

G/SG/N/8/IDN/29/Suppl.1 G/SG/N/10/IDN/29/Suppl.1

8 December 2021

Original: English

(21-9204) Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(B) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

Cigarette Paper

Supplement

The following communication, dated and received on 7 December 2021, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Articles 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies the issuance of Minister of Finance's Regulation No. 157/PMK.010/2021 dated 8 November 2021, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Number 1237 on 9 November 2021 regarding the imposition of safeguard measures on the importation of cigarette paper, for a period of 2 years and came into effect on 30 November 2021. The Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 157/PMK.010/2021 can be found on the website of the Indonesian Safeguard Committee: www.kppi.kemendag.go.id.

1 GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 5 March 2021, the Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of safeguard investigation in which it was concluded that there was evidence that the increased of volume of imports have caused a threat of serious injury to the domestic industry concerned in this investigation (G/SG/N/8/IDN/29 - G/SG/N/10/IDN/29).

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia the imposition of safeguard measures on the importation of the subject goods.

2 DESCRIPTION OF THE SUBJECT GOODS

The description and HS codes of the subject goods are as follows:

Cigarette paper and plug wrap paper non-porous under Harmonized System (HS.) codes ex. 4813.20.00, ex. 4813.90.10 and ex. 4813.90.90 according to Indonesia Customs Tariff Book 2017.

3 DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED MEASURE

The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duties:

TIMETABLE OF THE SAFEGUARD DUTY

Period	Specific Duty (Rupiah/Ton)
First Year (30 November 2021 - 29 November 2022)	4,000,000
Second Year (30 November 2022 - 29 November 2023)	3,961,950

LIST OF MAJOR EXPORTING MEMBERS OF IMPORTS OF THE PRODUCT INVOLVED

The information of the major exporting members of the subject goods are the same as stated on document G/SG/N/8/IDN/29 - G/SG/N/10/IDN/29.

According to article 9.1 of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, developing country Members with less than 3% import share collectively account for not more than 9% of total imports of the subject goods are excluded from the safeguard measures.

Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measures. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to amend the list in relation to changes in the volume of imports exceeding 3%.

LIST OF DEVELOPING COUNTRIES EXCLUDED FROM THE MEASURES

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
1.	Afghanistan	36.	Eswatini
2.	Albania	37.	Fiji
3.	Angola	38.	Gabon
4.	Antigua and Barbuda	39.	Gambia
5.	Argentina	40.	Georgia
6.	Armenia	41.	Ghana
7.	Bahrain, Kingdom of	42.	Grenada
8.	Bangladesh	43.	Guatemala
9.	Barbados	44.	Guinea
10.	Belize	45.	Guinea-Bissau
11.	Benin	46.	Guyana
12.	Bolivia, Plurinational State of	47.	Haiti
13.	Botswana	48.	Honduras
14.	Brazil	49.	Hong Kong, China
15.	Brunei Darussalam	50.	India
16.	Burkina Faso	51.	Israel
17.	Burundi	52.	Jamaica
18.	Cabo Verde	53.	Jordan
19.	Cambodia	54.	Kazakhstan
20.	Cameroon	55.	Kenya
21.	Central African Republic	56.	Korea, Republic of
22.	Chad	57.	Kuwait, the State of
23.	Chile	58.	Kyrgyz Republic
24.	Colombia	59.	Lao People's Democratic Republic
25.	Congo	60.	Lesotho
26.	Costa Rica	61.	Liberia
27.	Côte d'Ivoire	62.	Liechtenstein
28.	Cuba	63.	Macao, China
29.	Democratic Republic of the Congo	64.	Madagascar
30.	Djibouti	65.	Malawi
31.	Dominica	66.	Malaysia
32.	Dominican Republic	67.	Maldives
33.	Ecuador	68.	Mali
34.	Egypt	69.	Mauritania

71. M 72. M 73. M 74. M	Countries Il Salvador Mexico Moldova, Republic of Mongolia Montenegro	98. 99.	Countries Mauritius Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Senegal
71. M 72. M 73. M 74. M	Mexico Moldova, Republic of Mongolia Montenegro	98. 99. 100.	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Senegal
72. M 73. M 74. M	Moldova, Republic of Mongolia Montenegro	99. 100.	Senegal
73. M 74. M	longolia lontenegro	100.	•
74. M	1ontenegro		Cayaballaa
	Ţ .		Seychelles
75 M	_	101.	Sierra Leone
75.	1orocco	102.	Singapore
76. M	1ozambique	103.	Solomon Islands
77. M	1yanmar	104.	South Africa
78. N	lamibia	105.	Sri Lanka
79. N	lepal	106.	Suriname
80. N	licaragua	107.	Chinese Taipei
81. N	liger	108.	Tajikistan
82. N	ligeria	109.	Tanzania
83. N	Iorth Macedonia	110.	Thailand
84. O)man	111.	Togo
85. Pa	akistan	112.	Tonga
86. Pa	'anama	113.	Trinidad and Tobago
87. Pa	apua New Guinea	114.	Tunisia
88. Pa	araguay	115.	Turkey
89. Pe	'eru	116.	Uganda
90. Pł	hilippines	117.	Ukraine
91. Q)atar	118.	United Arab Emirates
92. Ri	Russian Federation	119.	Uruguay
93. R	lwanda	120.	Vanuatu
94. Sa	Saint Kitts and Nevis	121.	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
95. Sa	Saint Lucia	122.	Yemen
96. Sa	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	123.	Zambia
97. Sa	Samoa	124.	Zimbabwe

It is requested that this notification under Article 12.1 (c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards be brought to the notice of Members.